top of page

NCPTA | The Voice of Public Transit in North Carolina

About Us

Our Strategic Focus

Education & Training

Our Mission

To lead and support our members and communities through advocacy, education and collaboration to enhance public transportation for all. 

Who We Are

The North Carolina Public Transportation Association (NCPTA) is a nationally recognized, award-winning private, non-profit organization. We are celebrating our 40th anniversary in 2023. NCPTA represents 92 public transportation providers. This diverse group of System Members comprises systems ranging from large market urban transit systems operating light rail vehicles and large buses to smaller market rural transit systems operating just a few vans.

What Drives Us

We believe that regardless of its size, every public transportation service is an integral part of our communities' overall transportation infrastructure and is vital to maintaining economic mobility, freedom of travel, and quality of life for citizens and visitors alike.

Our Partners

NCPTA is proud to have 63 strong Business Partners representing educational institutions, governmental agencies, transit industry products, professional service providers, and vehicle manufacturers. These Partners provide the support necessary for our Members to continuously improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the transportation services provided to the public.
NCPTA is governed by a dynamic and diverse 23-member Board of Directors that is elected by the membership. The Board of Directors traditionally meets four times a year. The President, Vice President - Rural, Vice President - Urban, Secretary, and Treasurer are the Officers of the Association and form the Executive Committee, which is responsible for the Association’s administrative and financial affairs. These and other matters are also attended to by the Executive Director.

Executive Committee

Board of Directors

John Andoh
Reggie Arrington
Randy Cantor   
Misty Chase
Pitt Co. Transportation
Vickie Clifton
Neal Davis 
Kristal Ford 
Lincoln Co.
Rodney Harrison Salisbury Transit 
Masie Jones
Richard Jones 
Davidson Co.
Kristen Joyner
KJ Backpack
Jason Lawrence 
Ken McDowell

Jeff Neese 
CTS Software 
Patti Foster Nelson 
Greenway Transit 
Ro Oates 
Sampson Area Transit
Nick Pittman
Chapel Hill Transit 
Theresa Torres
Union Co. Transportation
Chris Yarber 
Creative Bus Sales 
bottom of page